Four OUSD Schools Receive California Gold Ribbon Secondary School Award

ORANGE, CA — May 14, 2015 — Canyon High School, Cerro Villa Middle School, El Modena High School and El Rancho Charter Middle School will be honored as 2015 Gold Ribbon Schools in San Diego next Friday. These schools were selected for this distinction based on their academic success and innovations that prepare students for college and career readiness.

Canyon High School received the California Gold Ribbon Schools Award for the Advanced Video Production program led by Mr. Alex Graham. 

Cerro Villa Middle School was honored for the Gear ‘N Up Academic Support program led by Mr. Steve Babnick and Mrs. Stacy Baird.

El Modena High School was recognized for the One More Time Intervention and support program led by Mr. Steve Bernard. 

El Rancho Charter Middle School was given the honor of being selected as having an Exemplary Program in Arts Education for their Visual and Performing Arts (VAPA) program, offering students the opportunity to receive instruction in any of the four art disciplines in the VAPA sequence.

“These schools are academically successful, vibrant, and innovative centers of learning and teaching,” said State Superintendent Tom Torlakson. “They provide great examples of the things educators are doing right—embracing rigorous academic standards, providing excellence and creativity in teaching, and creating a positive school climate.”

The new Gold Ribbon Schools Award program is temporarily taking the place of the California Distinguished Schools Program.  Middle and high schools are being recognized this year, and elementary schools will be honored in 2016.

California Gold Ribbon Schools will be recognized at a ceremony held at the Manchester Grand Hyatt in San Diego on Friday, May 22, 2015.


The Orange Unified School District educates approximately 26,000 PreK-12th grade students in the Cities of Orange, Villa Park, Anaheim, Garden Grove, Santa Ana, and unincorporated county areas.  In partnership with our community, we provide a safe, equitable, and innovative culture of learning for each scholar to have a competitive EDGE as a leader.